tUnE-yArDs – Bizness

tUnE-yArDs

I’m the bizness yeah (don’t take my life away, don’t take my life away)” I don’t think there are any words to describe the sheer talent of New England based musician MERRILL GARBUS as tUnE-yArDs. But I’m going to try anyway. Bizness is dynamic and modern yet, for the musically aware ear, it’s painfully obvious that she has integrated some traditional African grassroots pop vibes to the song, adding trumpets and some almighty sax, making it more cultural and interesting. Garbus’ voice exceeds any sort of idea of what a woman should sound like when she’s singing. She has this Nina Simone-ish gruff as if she is almost throat-singing. The first time I laid ear on this tune – it stuck with me and I guarantee it’ll stick with you too. If you see me in the street I’ll be belting “I’m a victim yeaaaaahh!” once, twice or maybe even thrice in your presence.

